La Union Surprised Me: Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel

I’m a sucker for all things colorful, whimsical, and look like they came straight out of my imagination.

 

image

 

I absolutely can’t resist quirky places and whenever I travel, I’ve always got a spot or two in my head that I intend to visit. See, whenever I have a trip coming up, I’ve already gone through countless websites, relying on reliable bloggers and Instagram to alert me to hidden gems in an area.

 

One such gem I still get excited over is Haji Lane in Singapore. It’s this tiny alley in Kampong Glam little known to tourists, literally bursting with color, character, and crazy jolts of creativity. I go there not just to check out vintage clothes, but also to stimulate myself visually and go crazy with my camera.

 

Armed with my camera (really just my iPad mini or my Samsung Grand S2) and getting some good lighting, I can really be absorbed in capturing the vibe of a place. It’s my soul therapy, my energizer, my happy break from the demands of real life.

 

So when I came home to La Union a couple of weeks ago, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to drop by the Flotsam and Jetsam hostel.

 

 

image

 

Frankly, I was quite stoked to learn that there IS such a place, just a few minutes away from where I grew up. I mean, what happened to La Union after I left for college and went to medical school? It slowly, gradually transformed itself into a cool spot to get away to for the weekend. It’s not as crowded and high profile as Boracay, not as far as Siargao, and offered just enough distance to be away from Manila and yet civilization wasn’t too cut off. You could meet all sorts of people on the beach: surfers, artists, backpackers, yoga enthusiasts, travel writers, college kids and yuppies out to try the waves and drink under the stars.

 

image

 

 

And perhaps, the magical place to be, when you’re on the beach in La Union is this place with that familiar-sounding-yet-catchy name.

 

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

 

image

 

Don’t you just love the chill atmosphere? It’s very laid-back, bohemian, and very much attuned to its surroundings. I liked the huts, the bamboo furniture, the hammocks, the vibrant lanterns, and the inviting beanbags strewn all over the place!

 

image

 

 

image

 

image

 

I’d go to this place over and over again, just because it is pure EYE CANDY. This is the kind of place that just makes me HAPPY.

 

image

 

 

image

 

I didn’t have time to try the drinks at the bar, but I didn’t mind, because I knew I’d go back for more the next time I’ll be in La Union. I heard, though, that what you should also come here for is the PIZZA. For a foodie like me, that’s all I needed to hear.

 

But, really, Flotsam and Jetsam is more than just a pretty place to stay with great views and even better food. Its website, http://flotsamandjetsamhostel.com/home/flotsam-and-jetsam/, says it is “a living space brimming with art, music, style, design, happiness, and imagination.”  It’s really a community for artists, travellers, and people who want to break out of the routine and do something soulful for the weekend.

 

Various festivals are regularly held here, be it about music, travel, yoga, or writing, so it’s always a good idea to watch out online for updates. It’s the perfect place for these special gatherings  – once you step inside, you feel transported into a world where you can be free and young and playful. I felt a lot like Alice in Wonderland when I was here. Its founders are Mia Sebastian, Carla Suiza, and Joncy Sumulong, whom I hope to bump into someday when I wander around this enchanting place again.

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

Like a breath of fresh air, Flotsam and Jetsam definitely surprised me. Being a local who got whisked off to the big city nine years ago, I thought I knew everything there was to know about La Union. I was wrong. Many exciting things are happening to this place, and Flotsam and Jetsam is sparking that growth.

 

image

 

4 thoughts on “La Union Surprised Me: Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel

  1. Hey! Nice entry. This just made me more excited for my nearing trip to Flotsam and Jetsam this coming Friday. I was wondering, how exactly do i get to flotsam and jetsam? Based from your entry, i could say that you’re a La Union native, so I think you’re the perfect person to ask assistance from. According to my research, i should ride a Partas bus from Cubao. The problem is I’m not really sure where in San Juan La Union I should get off. Can you please help me? I would really appreciate it.

    • Hi Mica! Yup, I was born and bred in La Union. You’re correct, just take a Partas bus from Cubao and tell the bus conductor you will get off at Urbiztondo, San Juan. Tell him you will get off at Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel, near the surfing area. It’s a little farther than Sebay Resort (the area where most people get off) so just tell the driver to slow down after you’ve passed that area. You will see a big house followed by a building that’s some kind of church (United Church in the Philippines perhaps, but I forgot the exact name), but for sure, there is a structure with a red gate, then next to that is Flotsam and Jetsam. The sign is hard to notice from the road, so yep, slowing down will do the trick. 🙂

      • Wow thank you for answering!! I really appreciate it and this will surely help me a lot! Thank you, really 🙂 One last thing, what is the best time of day(or night) to travel to La Union? And how long would it usually take to get there via Partas bus?
        Thank you!

Leave a Reply

